Thursday, December 20, 2012

Ethiopia: 4 Journalists Win Free Speech Prize

(Dec 20, 2012, New York)--Four Ethiopian journalists have received the prestigious Hellman/Hammett award for 2012 in recognition of their efforts to promote free expression in Ethiopia, one of the world's most restricted media environments.

Eskinder Nega Fenta, an independent journalist and blogger; Reeyot Alemu Gobebo of the disbanded weekly newspaper Feteh; Woubshet Taye Abebe of the now-closed weekly newspaper Awramba Times; and Mesfin Negash of Addis Neger Online were among a diverse group of 41 writers and journalists from 19 countries to receive the award in 2012.

Eskinder, Reeyot, and Woubshet are imprisoned in Ethiopia; Mesfin fled in 2009. All four journalists were convicted in 2012 under Ethiopia's draconian anti-terrorism law.

"The four jailed and exiled journalists exemplify the courage and dire situation of independent journalism in Ethiopia today," said Leslie Lefkow, deputy Africa director at Human Rights Watch. "Their ordeals illustrate the price of speaking freely in a country where free speech is no longer tolerated."

The Hellman/Hammett grants, administered by Human Rights Watch, are awarded annually to writers and journalists around the world who have been targets of political persecution and human rights abuses. The prize is named after two American writers who were harassed during the 1950s anti-communism investigations.

Lillian Hellman suffered professionally and had trouble finding work while Dashiell Hammett spent time in prison. A distinguished selection committee awards the grants to honor and support journalists whose work, activities, and lives are suppressed by repressive government action. Read more all Africa »

No comments:

Post a Comment